Petit Bourgeois / Shoushimin Series

Kobato-kun and Osanai-san are in their first year of high school. Even though they aren’t lovers nor dependent on each other, the two of them have a peculiar, mutually-beneficial relationship. Today, like every other day, they only wish to be modest, upstanding lower-middle class citizens, or as they call it, petit bourgeois. And yet, they constantly find themselves face-to-face with strange mysteries around every corner. Although he doesn’t want to stand out like some sort of genius detective, Kobato-kun somehow always ends up finding himself trapped in situations that force him to unravel these mysteries anyways. Will he ever be able to achieve shining, petite bourgeoisie normalcy?

The Shoushimin Series (小市民シリーズ), or The Petit Bourgeois Series, is a novel series written by Honobu Yonezawa (米澤穂信), author of Hyouka (Classics Club Series). There are currently five volumes in the series.

Volume 1: Case of the Spring-Exclusive Strawberry Tart

Volume 2: Case of the Summer-Exclusive Tropical Parfait

Volume 3: Case of the Autumn-Exclusive Kuri Kinton (Book 1)

Volume 4: Case of the Autumn-Exclusive Kuri Kinton (Book 2)

Volume 5: The Paris Macaron Mystery